Project365: June

About half way through the month I ordered a reversal ring and Nikon mount adapters to cover the exposed back side of the lens while using the reversal ring. I won’t lie, the reverse technique is difficult for someone with shaky hands–no vibration reduction, little to no ability to subtly focus on the most aesthetic part of the subject without moving my whole body, which leads to over compensation.  It has been fun, however, to see what macro is capable of.  Less fun was collecting chiggers, because apparently crouching on the edge (but still on top of) the road or sidewalk means those nymphs are going to find a cozy spot to bite. This past month I have also been less camera shy and included myself to varying degrees.

Half way month-wise! …and half way today day wise!

Macro with reversal ring

165 of 365

I experimented with each of my lenses: my Nikkors 18-55mm and 55-300mm and I have Konica Hexanon ARs 35mm and 50mm that an older fellow gave to me with all his other film gear. I love that reversal rings let me use any lens, regardless of mount–as long as I use step up rings of course. As many internet articles described, the wider the lens the more magnitude in reverse. Focusing as close as I can I got these results and for convenience combined the images: top left 55-300mm, top middle 50mm, top right 35mm and bottom 18-55mm. Computer junkies weren’t joking when they said screens use RGB…the white numbers were an illusion.

167 of 365

Scudderia spp. (bush katydid) nymph on a red clover leaf. There were two but this guy was less offended by my presence. So much I never noticed without being able to get closer!

171 of 365

I’m guessing this is a Carolina mantis (Stagmomantis carolina) in a lower instar (life stage) as it is much smaller than the mantid species known in my area. I also learned something when trying to identify him/her: mantids can change their eye color! It reflects their physiological state. For instance, if one has black eyes after you catch it, it’s in distress–likely thirst or hunger. These guys have to eat CONSTANTLY so they aren’t good pets.

172 of 365

White avens (Geum canadense) of the Rosaceae family. I love the geometry of the petals and sepals. Actually, the sepals also remind me of a ninja throwing star.

Rare sitings of the photographer

161 of 365

How to take 28 years of your family’s memories from random boxes into albums in chronological order: leave the cats out of it. I used a tripod with a 10 second timer on the shutter. The timer flashes green which caught Nikki’s (the cat) attention. Caution: return to your tripod before the cat “investigates.”

175 of 365

This is my forest child. She lived in the woods as a kitten, had pneumonia, got super skinny, et cetera. Four years later she still has a paw-holding daily quota.

181 of 365

I think a post oak (Quercus stellata) leaf is perfect for the “reaching toward the heavens” type photo!

178 of 365

I love this wind-spinning-yard-ornament thingy. It’s so colorful!

One thought on “Project365: June

Leave a Reply

