Project 365: March

March came with a theme where I live: first fortnight dominated by light snow storms and the second fortnight revealing many spring blooms. Here are some species that entered the Project365 ranks. To think I’ve been at this for 90 days now–taking a picture and uploading it every day. (Though a few a had to wait a few days as I don’t bring a computer with me on road trips [ruins the ambiance of freedom].) Links go to USDA website for plant profiles if you’re curious.

Acer rubrum (red maple) flowers

Acer rubrum (red maple) flowers. First to bloom this year.

Cardamine hirsuta (hairy bittercress) flowers

Cardamine hirsuta (hairy bittercress) flowers. Second to bloom this year. Since then a bunch bloomed at once so the ranking system fell apart.

Claytonia virginica (spring beauty) flowers

Claytonia virginica (spring beauty) flowers.

Vinca minor (common periwinkle) flowers

Vinca minor (common periwinkle) flowers. Overdid the oil-y effect, but I was experimenting i.e. learning so that makes it okay.

Viola bicolor (field pansy) flower

Viola bicolor (field pansy) flower. They are popping up in more places this year. Actually, with all the vinca removal in my yard I’m seeing lots of many other plants that the vinca used to crowd out.

Saucer magnolia (Magnolia x soulangeana) flower

Likely a Saucer magnolia (Magnolia x soulangeana) flower, which ornamental…which means it could be something else but it’s not like a dichotomous key of native trees in the American southeast is going to help me.

Pyrus calleryana (Bradford pear) flowers

Pyrus calleryana (Bradford pear) flowers. I had an interesting Facebook discussion with some botanist friends of mine. Comments ranged from “peeyew” to a sarcastic response about morning because I described how I’ve removed almost all of the invasive plants in my yard, burned their remains, and added them to the new vegetable garden as fertilizer.

Hedyotis (bluet) flowers.

Hedyotis spp. (bluet) flowers–even when I attended university and had access to proper dissecting tools and a dissecting microscope I could not identify its features species.

Unfortunately my ability to identify plants falls apart as dozens rise before I can must the time to collect, fiddle for identification features, and mess with the book and confirm with photos online. Maybe this photo-a-day deal I can better force myself to resume my taxonomy studies.

One thought on “Project 365: March

Leave a Reply

